A brief update: I went back to the doctor yesterday because my back has been constantly hurting since the accident. She told me that it is possible that I could be hurting for awhile, even if it is just a muscle injury. I had X-rays taken of my spine to rule out anything more serious and am still waiting to hear from the radiologist. So now it’s just trying to face the day and do the best I can. My job has definitely been affected, as I’ve been limited as a result, but at the end of the day, I’m alive and I can deal with pain. I do have a lot to be thankful for.

I finished my inspiration deck last night. There is a huge difference between the cards I finished before my accident and those I finished afterward. Actually, it was a good change. I’m not very free in my art. I strive too hard for perfection, symmetry, exact replicas, and it would always bother me if something wasn’t just right. I’m usually pretty good at copying a photo by hand, but trying to create something wholly original just led to frustration. However, after the wreck, with the ongoing back pain, I can’t afford to be picky because I can’t bend over a canvas for that long. So I had to be careless, imperfect, spontaneous, and it was amazing that I still liked the results.

I am trying to branch out more, take my art somewhere, be confident in creating something from the heart without worrying about every little detail. I have taken part in a few online courses, guides, and projects that are helping me break out of my rigid shell, and though the process is slow, I am definitely moving forward. I am very excited to see what my upcoming projects will bring. Hopefully one day I can actually go on a retreat and be completely immersed in a creative environment, surrounded by creative souls who can bring me out even more. It will take time, especially now that I have car payments to consider, but I know that when the time is right, the opportunity will present itself. And I will be ready.

