Realized this morning that if people are actually going to read this, I should probably update the “About” section to something more current than 3 years ago. Check.

I’ve long joked that my sole purpose in life is to provide God with some comic relief. I don’t say this to be hard on myself or make others feel bad for me — I consider it quite an honor to be the one that God can occasionally laugh at. Thee are just some things that happen in my life that I can only think occurred because God needed a laugh. Not a mean-spirited laugh, mind you; I don’t believe that God is some sort of cosmic bully who needs to hurt people to have a good time. But when I think about the things He has to endure, looking out on the world and seeing all of the people He loves who aren’t going for their dreams, who aren’t loving as they are loved, who are hurting themselves, I can’t even imagine the pain He must feel, the sadness of watching us destroy ourselves. He has to find delight in something, and if He creates people for that reason, I’m delighted to be a part of that.

Because seriously, who is allergic to cockatiels? Really?

*cosmic snickering*

