Yes, I realize I haven’t updated in a week, so my apologies for those who want more insight into my incredibly boring life right now because this post will have very little to do with me.

Many people out there are aware of a site called Etsy, a place where artists and craftspeople can come and set up online shops to sell their creations.  It is an amazing site and there is no limit to what you can find on there.  This is, of course, where I have my own art shop.  I also have friends with shops here and have met people with amazing creations through here, people that I would love to go out for a coffee with someday if I ever make it up to Oregon.  However, no good deed goes unpunished, and Etsy is becoming overrun with resellers (who buy in bulk and resell for 500x the cost), people who don’t sell “vintage” or even attempt to make it appear older than 20 years, and those who blatantly steal other peoples’ designs and sell them as their own.  Not only is this sad for the people directly involved, it also is a black eye to the entire site that either cannot keep up or simply chooses not to.  This is where Regretsy.com comes in, a website created to call out resellers, art thieves, and people who just generally make “more interesting” creations than others.  The great thing about this website is, aside from being downright hilarious, it opens up a whole other world of art, because as always, one person’s junk is another person’s masterpiece.  Trust me, I have found my next purchase after the shock of taxes wears off.

The other amazing thing about this site is the amount of charity work that is done.  Each month, a different charity or Etsy seller in need is featured and funds are raised to help them out.  It truly is incredible seeing people coming together to create for good, and I can’t wait until I can contribute something to the shop.  In the meantime, I have to settle for buying things I can’t afford.

The website is here:  http://www.etsy.com/shop/AprilsArmy and I encourage everyone to check it out.  If you can afford it, make a purchase.  All the money from this shop will go to help an Etsy seller who has a loved one fighting pancreatic cancer.  This is an awesome opportunity to help someone out as well as support handmade and artisans.  And while you’re at it, check out regretsy.com to get backstories on some of the items you see.  (If it doesn’t make sense, it’s in a Regretsy archive, I promise you.)

I will update on my own life later, but for now, go enjoy some fun, hilarious, and crazy items made by people who enjoy doing good with a little bit of snarkiness thrown in.  Because seriously, what part of life isn’t made better with cats, snark, and vodka?

