Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday, I go to yoga class with my mom.  It is a completely refreshing and uplifting experience, and the mental and physical health benefits are amazing.  During the last part of class, we have a relaxation phase, which includes a little bit of guided meditation.  This is probably my favorite time, not only because it involves lying on your back with your eyes closed completely still, but because it is during this time that I feel I can truly escape this world and transcend into the next.  My view of heaven has always been something familiar, something that I have experienced, and frequently changed depending on my mood, but I can say that I believe I have finally glimpsed my heaven, a place I have never physically experienced but yet seems so familiar that I can picture it anytime I need a bit of freedom.

I can’t take all the credit for this pristine picture.  Its inspiration is hanging on the wall in my office.  A little 2×3 original painting of an open field with hills and clouds in the background that I paid a small fortune for at NatureWorks that seems to have a life of its own.  What is truly amazing about this little painting is not the detail (though incredible), nor the simple picturesque beauty (which is indescribable), but the fact that when I look at it, I can see not only what lies in front of me, but what is behind me as well.  My view of heaven is not the picture exactly, but rather it is like the picture was created to help me realize what I have been searching for all along.  Even now, writing this, I can see everything, all around me, smell the fresh air and the rain in the background, feel the cool breeze on my arms, even see those that will lead me into eternity.  It almost moves me to tears, because it is so REAL.  Never has the intangible been so tangible, so here and now, so close.  When I am in this place, no troubles harass me, no hate, no fear, nothing but peace and love and warmth.  I can only hope that everyone is so fortunate to find their heaven during their earthly existence.  It is life-changing and eye-opening.  For me, it is a place that is always with me, even in the hectic business of the day, a place that I can quickly retreat to when I need a breath of everything good and pure, for that is all that exists here.

The artist who inspired all of this is Lindsey Foggett, but in truth, all artists inspire me.  They are able to see beyond what is in front of us and reach further than most, and more importantly, they can bring their visions to the rest of us in a tangible way.  So today, go be inspired.  Who knows, maybe you will find your own heaven.  🙂

