Up until recently, I have looked forward to Fridays.  Friday signaled the end of the week and the beginning of the weekend.  Nothing to do for two whole days except lie around, read a book, watch some tv, and enjoy some good quality relaxation time before Monday came around.  Nothing relaxing about Fridays anymore!

Fridays are our busiest days.  The phone and doorbell are constantly ringing.  The animals tend to be cases that require more intensive diagnostics or ones that are sick.  I never take a relatively-empty schedule for granted, because it could fill up in an instant (and frequently does).  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining at all.  It gives me something to do, and I’d much rather see an animal on Friday afternoon than Saturday at 2am.  The only downside is that, by Friday, I’m exhausted from the week and Fridays are almost a running sprint to the weekend.

Today is no exception.  Since getting back from lunch I have had only a small number of 5-minute breaks to sit and collect my thoughts.  I have not even been able to sit down and write this without having something else to do.  The phone rings as soon as it is hung up, and if we had more than two lines, we wouldn’t have enough people to answer the calls.  It isn’t uncommon for someone to have to hold a dog and talk to a client on the phone at the same time, nor it is uncommon for me to try to hold the dog and clip nails/vaccinate/examine/etc. at the same time because everyone else is attending to others.  It can get crazy sometimes, and it’s good to be able to multitask.

Saturdays are always fun too, since we are only open until noon.  The phone starts ringing about 10am after people start to get up and a seemingly peaceful Saturday suddenly turns into a marathon.  If I am the only vet here, I consider it a miracle to get out on time.  And when only two of us are working, it’s downright insane, because it’s impossible to be in three rooms, answer the phone, and talk to the client up front all at the same time.  I would love to be able to split myself into multiples, but alas, science has not yet advanced that far.

I love my job.  My clients are great, and the pets are even greater.  Even the cranky ones find a way to warm my heart.  (Seriously, the angry cat who is snorting between hisses has a somewhat endearing quality, even if she can bite through leather gloves.  Yes I’m crazy.)  I don’t write this to complain or gripe or criticize anyone.  This is simply the way things are around here.  I’m sure many others are in the same situation and can relate.  I am grateful to have a wonderful place to work, the clients are (almost) always patient and understanding, and running into each other racing between rooms can lighten the mood — especially if it’s literally “running into each other” — bonus points if someone is holding a particularly foul-smelling sample.  It’s fun, we have a good time.  But I won’t lie — it’s nice to go home to get to sit down for a few minutes.  🙂

