So I’m on vacation from vet school, which is the most amazing feeling in the world.  It feels so good to be away from school, especially with the drama that happened on my last rotation.  (Haven’t gotten my grades yet, so no clue how that affected me.  Not looking forward to getting them either.)  But right now, I’m in the beautiful South Dakota with my wonderful husband where the only association I have with anything vet-related is when I have to study for boards.  My wonderful, amazing husband spent a day planning and organizing my whole trip so that I didn’t have to worry about anything and could just enjoy vacation without worrying about school.  He surprised me with a 3-day trip through the west part of South Dakota, complete with a ride on an old train, a *very* nice dinner in Deadwood, and a drive through the beautiful Spearfish Canyon.  It was so nice and relaxing to just be along for the ride, not have to make decisions, just chill and be pampered.  *sigh*  Did I mention I have a wonderful, amazing husband?

The downside to my vacation is that I found out another one of my kitties died today.   Taylor was the 4th cat I got in Oklahoma.  She was 11 years old, which quite frankly, was 11 years older than the initial vet predicted she would survive.  She had been very malnourished when we got her, and she had a lot of health problems.  She did very well for her 11 years, but she developed pancreatitis not too long ago.  She recovered from that, but it came back a few weeks ago.  I’m guessing she had several problems going on stemming from developmental problems as a kitten.  She had a very good life though.  She will be deeply missed.

I go back to school in 2 weeks and then I’m stuck until graduation.  This is going to be a long trip.

