My apologies for the absence.  I forgot to mention that I was going on Spring Break last week, but at least now I have exciting things to talk about!

So Spring Break was a fun-filled few days of weddings, shopping, and dinosaurs!  My dear friend Melissa and I traveled to Granbury TX for a few days while she looked for a preceptor for next year and I bummed around and chilled, lol!  We started the trip with our friend Katie’s wedding, which was gorgeous.  They rode away in a horse-drawn carriage, which was so cool!  The downside of going to weddings now is that I find things that I think, “Dang, that would have been cool!”  But oh well.  It’s all about the end result anyway.  😉

After the gorgeous country wedding, we continued onto Granbury, where we were spoiled with home-cooked meals and endless non-stop card playing.  Melissa found her preceptor, which was awesome, and I got some great shopping in!  Granbury was not what I expected, but in a very good way.  It was actually a very cute little town with cool stores and lots of fun things to do!  My favorites had to be the paint-your-own-pottery store and the dinosaur park (I’ll get to that later).  At the pottery-painting store, I made a photo frame for a wedding picture, two mugs with western themes on them, and then a little mouse painted to look like Mocha (my first mouse).  Unfortunately, I don’t get to see them until September because they had to take 5 days to finish, but it’s better than having them shipped (and possibly broken in transit).  But I am very excited!  It was a lot of fun!

Dinosaur Valley State Park:  I knew that it was a place where you can see dinosaur tracks along the riverbed, but I really didn’t know fully what to expect.  It was AWESOME!!!!!  We got to go on a beautiful day and our first few stops didn’t reveal too many tracks (either due to water levels or removal to send to various museums), but we got to see a few.  We also tested the laws of physics while crossing the river on foot, but I am proud to say that we prevailed over gravity (and barely over frostbite).  What can I say — 3 years of sitting in a classroom studying nonstop has not been good to my body, and I wasn’t thrilled with the idea of climbing the hill again.  Plus, climbing the hill doesn’t give us a good story or a chance to be goofy.  😀  So we hit the 3 main stops along the trail and, after failing to find the 4th unmarked spot, we hit the gift shop.  I found a lot of cool stuff for my mom since she teaches earth science and likes dinosaurs and fossils, and of course, we had to pose for pictures with the big fake dinosaurs.  We also asked about the 4th place, and after a little bit of a hike, we found the absolute best track site EVER!!!!  It was secluded, so we were the only ones there, plus the river was down and not moving as fast, so we could really see them well.  (The others might have been even cooler if the river was down, but this was by far my favorite spot.)  So after more river-wading, balancing acts involving rocks, currents, algae, and a very-much-not-waterproof camera, we got some of the best photos of the day.  It is definitely worth going to visit if ever in the area (or if you just like dinosaurs).  (NOT to be confused with Dinosaur World, which is a place that has life-size models of a bunch of dinosaurs — this is real.)

Oh, and I got my ear pierced again.  😛

Now time for pictures.  😀

Dinosaur tracks!

Dinosaur tracks!

More tracks!

More tracks!

Wading the River

Wading the River

AAAHHH!!!!

AAAHHH!!!!

Science is fun!!!

Science is fun!!!

